Responce to “Response to ‘Why I hate religion!’”

bla bla long story back and fort to this article that article, etc!

Anyway this dialog is developing into a disorganized confusing blurb. Now spread over, i don’t know how many blog’s, and the main topic has deviated into a number of sub topics.  Topics as diverse as the forum systems on wordpress, to how we technically divide the different belief systems from the lifestyle beliefs such as Buddhism, confusion ism, Hinduism yadida , etc.

In my post i wrongfully assumed that Syd had been able to follow the dialog and posts from the beginning to the current point where our counter arguments currently circulate.

In earlier posts i have clarified that when i talk about mainstream religions i mean Christianity, Islam and the Jewish faith, their beliefs are monotheistic and promote a personal god, there are of course hundreds of deviations of these base religions and they are all generally crap. By the way i have studied religion in depth.

The other belief branch are the “personal lifestyle choice” belief systems, they differ in that the individual person is responsible for their life, they have to account for their own choices etc, contrary to the before mentioned branch that puts this responsibility with sky daddy and reduces the individual enrolled in the particular religion to a mere Muppet.

Choosing to live you life a certain way because you know you are responsible for your choices, is extremely far removed from living your life as commanded by god. Thus your argument that you could also consider the mainstream religions as lifestyle choices are so meaningless it doesn’t really deserve a proper answer.

i myself have worked in 62 countries, and i usually talk to 5-10 different people through my work every day. I have been in this field for 13 years, (you do the math) so you see i have more than adequate coverage to stand by and back up my statements. Mainstream religion is fundamentally flawed! Self contradicting, and totally unrealistic! In short its mass superstition and i think its only right to point this out!

If a person walks around, and is proud of how incredibly stupid and superstitious they are! I will call that person, be it you or anyone else, a fucking stupid moron!

If that person understands their stupidity, and comes to their senses, they can thank me for it later.

If not, good luck with the stupid self deception i hope they don’t reproduce and hand down the stupidity to the next generation.

Lets look at one of your counter arguments.

(Escapedmentalpatient is of the view that I am arguing against him or her on their view of religion. That’s bullshit. What I take offence to escapedmentalpatient is the fact that he or she is demonstrating the same ignorance that ‘fundamentalists’ have. Also, escapedmentalpatient tries to use simple analogies to make broad statements look true through a deducing logic. Here’s what he or said in their post:

‘Would you accept a doctors belief that he could cure canser with leaches? or that your first born should be covered in cigarette smoke to purify it? Of course you wouldn’t, the point is you are probably a smart rational person. But look at what happens when i generally comment on how stupid religion is, and voila! )

Well analogies and deducing logic clarifies the issue? what is your point? that you point out that i use an analogy doesn’t make it any less valid? I could just as well use an example from real life:

Should we allow parents to denie blood transfusions to their children? every year, children die needlessly in the hospital because of their parents belief!

No matter how you look at it mind numbingly stupid!!!!!

Yet you compare me with a fundamentalist for pointing this out? what the fuck is wrong with you?

Anyway lets look at another paragraph

Obviously, according escapedmentalpatient, those who are religious cannot be ‘reasonable and intelligent people’. What a load of shit. Just because escapedmentalpatient may not agree with some of the views of ‘religious’ people, to say that they have a lack of intelligence and reason is an example of why this person is a closed minded fool, like so many of the ‘fundamentalists’ who s/he despises. Escapedmentalpatient, this is what I mean by being OUTLANDISH!!!!!!!!!!!!

Nonsense i actively seek feedback enlighten me! prove me wrong! that i am not apologetic about my standpoint doesn’t mean that i don’t listen to justified argument, i encourage it!

Now can you please answer the following 3 questions instead of trying to find meaningless contradiction in sound arguments.

1. Would you describe a person that believes in trolls as reasonable and intelligent?

2. Why should we respect such a belief?

3. What is the difference between believing in trolls and believing in god as defined by the mainstream religions.

6 Responses to Responce to “Response to ‘Why I hate religion!’”

  1. Well Melanie you dont see the point because you are a religious idiot, how is the weather in cloud co-co land by the way?

    If you relly believe in what you say here i hope you are part of one of those death cults with the passing of some comet or something, you are an insult to human intelligence.

    PS: if you expect to be taken seriously at least try to back up your delusional claims with some form of facts or evidence.

    and try to go easy on the meaningless gibberish will you.

  2. Melanie Stephan says:

    I do see your point, so don’t put me down as one of those stupid people. But, This is an important News Update, please read and pass it along. God has made contact. The message is about Revelation. The message is from God, Jesus and the Holy Ghost respectively. It was sent in the Spring of 2006. It is about the meaning of First is Last and Last is First as written in Revelation. The message is this: In the morning I go to Heaven. In the afternoon I live my life. In the evening I die, death. What does this mean? In other words this means Birth is Last and Last is Birth. To understand this don’t think from point A to point B. Think of this as a continous circle of life. Birth is First, Life, Death, Birth is Last, completing the circle. God also said that Judgment will be before Birth in Heaven. AS birth on Earth is painful so will birth in Heaven. It is possible that this message was delivered by one of God’s Angels in the Spring of 2006. Yes, God has made contact and he sent a messenger. Spread this message along, just like a chain letter. Tell two people. Melanie Stephan

  3. http://pressposts.com/Religion/Responce-to-Response-to-Why-I-hate-religion/

    Submited post on PressPosts.com – “Responce to ?Response to ?Why I hate religion!??”

  4. sydspace says:

    Thank you escapedmentalpatient and Arnie…both of your responses are measured and well written.

    See escapedmentalpatient, I also take issue with people who blindly follow anything, let alone religion. With your experiences, I could easily imagine that you would have witnessed this first hand, and that’s absolutely great if you have. Without getting too personal, it would be great to hear from your travels overseas, and how different people regard religion in different cultures.

    From my experiences, I can say that I have no idea whether god exists or not. I would like to make that very clear. I have met my fair share of people who don;t even question the stuff that they are taught, whether it is by their parents, teachers or others. I think questioning beliefs is a very important process for humans to develop, but I know that I cannot with any authority say that God does not exist. But I cannot say with any authority that God exists as well.

    Your ideas about morals remind me of this documentary I saw the other day. Something about ‘Religion being the virus of children’ and it was presented by an Oxford University professor. I wish I had taken some of the details down because I would have passed them on. One thing that I learnt through this documentary was this idea of hell held by some religions. It was eye-opening and quite scary to think ‘hell’ is a place of eternal torture of the soul. I cannot agree with the concept of hell, because I suppose I am an optimist. Certain aspects of religion do seem so brutal and is contrary to my personal beliefs. I believe in the goodness of humans. (Although I do not know why, and whether it has anything to do with religion or not.)

    Through this dialogue, I know that certain issues that you have brought up are very important and relevent. It has helped me see things from a different thought of view. While I do not agree with some of the things you say, I respect your opinion and I hope I have a better understanding of it.

  5. Thank you for your comments i appreciate, both yours and Syds input.

    i would like to comments on a few things,

    “However, explain that there is no God to a person faced with extreme poverty.”
    what would you have the person do? sit in his shed and pray for things to go better or have him realize that the only way to get out of his predicament is to do something about it?

    “Maybe religion in way provides hope for something better? Isn’t there a possiblity of God? How about the ten commandments that allow us to become better people and live in relative harmony? People who don’t question is the issue.”
    In order : I claim, there is no possibility of a God, and the ten commandments has nothing to do with our morals!

    “questioning which is not encouraged”
    this is hitting the nail on the head, questioning is what drives and evolves us and our society forward! if we didn’t question if the round was really flat for example, we would still believe it was flat! just try to imagine how much progress we have missed thanks to religious idiots. Like the once that are now trying to teach intelligent design.

    “think Sydspace gets worked up because there is no humility in your blog posts.”
    you might be right! i will consider adopting a more humble approach, i dont think i have anything to be humble about, but on reflection i see i can seam a bit coarse so i will see if i can manage to adapt a softer approach.

  6. Arnie says:

    I didn’t quite realise that this conversation was going on. Everyone seems a bit angry.

    As much as I realise that you don’t want to be apologetic, you seem very certain in your ideas, and I think that is what Sydspace points out. I was reading a blog that seemed as absolute in their views as you seem, perhaps you should give it a read – it’s a fundamentalist Christian blog. I have no idea how you, or anyone can be so sure about anything.

    I think Sydspace also points out that you can only get to a certain point with logic – you can’t prove that God exists, but you cannot prove that God doesn’t exist given the properties he is claimed to have. Perhaps you can try, but how is that going to help you with those people who need a reason for why we exist? You readily scoff at the existence of God, and the fundamentalists readily scoff at you. I agree when you say that accepting religion blindly is stupid and that it causes harm and discrimination, but what about some of the good things that people do because of religion? I can understand why you would call self righteous arrogant fundamentalists bad names, why is that different to a self righteous arrogant fundamentalist atheist. It’s like we’re dealing with two amazing extremes here. How are people so sure about all this stuff? In my opinion, Sydspace hates your analogies because you oversimpify certain things and condemn religion as a whole based on an analogy about cigarette smoke on a young child. Yes there are whole lot of useless superstitions. However, explain that there is no God to a person faced with extreme poverty. Maybe religion in way provides hope for something better? Isn’t there a possiblity of God? How about the ten commandments that allow us to become better people and live in relative harmony? People who don’t question is the issue.

    I think Sydspace gets worked up because there is no humility in your blog posts. Believing in a troll would suggest that trolls can be found somewhere on this Earth – it’s not viable. God is apparently infinite, so believing in something like that is at least obscure enough so that one does not need to see it to believe it. When Sydspace mentioned that religions are a lifestyle choice, isn’t he just saying that people choose how they live, based on meaning that they give themselves through faith? They are following what they believe because otherwise would it mean they are contradicting their actual faith in God. The problem isn’t with religion as much as it is with the interpretation of it and the absence of questioning – questioning which is not encouraged, and if it is encouraged it is always answered by the bible. I can’t imagine how an educated person can believe that the bible is perfect. The solution isn’t to prove one way or the other, because absolute and certain extremes on both sides seem as absurd and hopeless as the other. I think the solution is in encouraging questioning. Are you going to raise your children to hate religious people? What would that solve? Or are you going to raise your children to ask questions about why people believe anything?

    I’ll tell you what, my mind warps when I find so many, often young people, so sure about eternity, life, God and the most difficult questions that are around. I myself, have no clue – I just know that nothing I read is perfect, so it’s up to me to explore what’s out there, and hope for the best.

Leave a Reply

